Collodion Photography Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Workshops & Events > World Wet Plate Day - The Archer Project
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: The Worldwide Wet Plate Day Site
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedThe Worldwide Wet Plate Day Site

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Heyda View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 05 October 2008
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 150
Direct Link To This Post Topic: The Worldwide Wet Plate Day Site
    Posted: 08 January 2010 at 08:18
Pfff, I think I have fixed it. I just heard from my provider. Some evildo-er hacked a whole bunch, including mine.

We fixed it and I hope it will last.

Sorry for the inconvenience...

Gone is the dream that a mac is save from hackers...

Now to fix my own website.
Back to Top
Heyda View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 05 October 2008
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 150
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 January 2010 at 02:17
The problem is known. I'm in contact with my provider to get it solved.

I will also look into the solution you mentioned. Thanks for that one.


I hope it will be solved today.


GJ
Back to Top
alex from holland View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 09 October 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1926
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2010 at 18:08
same problem over here.
I am unable to get access to the site.
 
alex
You don't take a picture, it's given to you.
Alex Timmermans

My wetplate blog
My website
Back to Top
schrochem View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 29 October 2007
Location: Austin,Tx
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1584
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 January 2010 at 17:43
I'm having trouble loading the website.
I get the application/x-httpd-php error.
I asked our IT guy and he said it's on the server side where the site is being held.
I found a tech site that discusses how to fix it here.
Thought those in charge of the site would like to know
Anyone else having the problem?
Scott
Back to Top
davidjohnlotto View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 09 July 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1219
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 19:27

36 or 37 for hue seems to be about right. It's the saturation that changes from image to image for me. That's where I spend a little more time; fine tuning it for each particular image. Whether I go with Hue/Sat or Black and White (tint) ,or as a matter-of-fact any of Photoshop's  color  pickers, I seem to end up in about the same place. However, In the printer driver I get a different toning application that works well also. ( WARM  - WARMER ) Then tweek that as well with each image. Too much fun , Isn't it ??

davidjohn
platinum/palladium/collodion
www.davidjohnlotto.com
Back to Top
schrochem View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 29 October 2007
Location: Austin,Tx
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1584
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 18:26
We've talked about this in the past, but does anyone have any new skills on matching toning.
I end up close but it's a fine line and can go too neutral, too green or too red.
I messed around quite a bit today and still haven't found a solid, reproducible way of doing it.......
In general, I think the underlining tone (for KCN fix) is in the orangish area of the pallete....closer to yellow than red. On the HSB picker, that's around 36 deg for H.

Scott
Back to Top
davidjohnlotto View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 09 July 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1219
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 18:12

The "12" is the jpeg setting for quality. It is high quality (maximum quality)

davidjohn
platinum/palladium/collodion
www.davidjohnlotto.com
Back to Top
Eddie View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 30 January 2008
Location: Lost in Europe
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1924
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 16:22
Originally posted by admin

Send the book images to me at - wetplate (at) gmail (dot) com
Make the long side of your image 10" and save it as a 12 (high) JPEG at 300 dpi.


sorry for being so computer challenged but i get the long side as 10" but what is the 12 (high)?

i might as well just resize it to 8x10 inches ......
Back to Top
Bruce Schultz View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 14 March 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1125
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 11:26
Like a dumb@#@ I forgot to take model releases this past weekend, so I'm going to have to hunt down my 2 subjects. I won't be able to do that for a week or 2.
Back to Top
admin View Drop Down
Adminstrator
Adminstrator
Avatar
Forum Board Moderator

Joined: 27 May 2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2240
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 09:43
Send the book images to me at - wetplate (at) gmail (dot) com
Make the long side of your image 10" and save it as a 12 (high) JPEG at 300 dpi.
Back to Top
Eddie View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 30 January 2008
Location: Lost in Europe
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1924
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2009 at 09:39
hello all,

i want to upload for the book.  i have a 5x7 plate.  the site says upload 8x10 300dpi.  should i resize it to 8x10 or leave it 5x7.  i would like it to be a 5x7 format for the book.....thanks for the help.

eddie
Back to Top
Heyda View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 05 October 2008
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 150
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2009 at 19:54
pm send

so the problem is almost solved.


 
Back to Top
Euphus View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 01 May 2006
Location: Miss. Delta
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 531
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2009 at 19:18

I am trying to do this from my work PC. Living in the country without cable or internet is usually fine until something like this happens & I end staying longer than I want at work. Until I get this upload problem solved here are the other plates we made Saturday: http://picasaweb.google.com/brasslens/WetPlateCollodionDay2009?feat=directlink

Back to Top
Euphus View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 01 May 2006
Location: Miss. Delta
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 531
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2009 at 18:58
All,
 I am having problems assessing the wetplate day site to upload my second image. has anyone else reported problems. Last time I connected it took over 7 minutes and I still could not upload images to the site. I pinged other sites and my connection was fine and quick.
thanks,
Euphus
Back to Top
zmanphoto View Drop Down
Subscriber
Subscriber
Avatar

Joined: 26 April 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1038
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 May 2009 at 11:22
The images look outstanding!  I wish I could have shot some portraits, but didn't get anything line out ahead of time. I tried something new, which was to take wet plate on the road without a darkroom, so it was a successful day for me.  
Can't wait to see the book.
Back to Top
efranqueville View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 16 May 2008
Location: France
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 152
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 May 2009 at 09:44
Thanks to everyone who was involved in this website creation, the result is GREAT !

The limitation to one picture sounds ok to me, if it's the way to have more different people in the book
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down